DRS

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP CONTACTS

SIGs are a primary means to implement ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise.” SIGs operate within ASCO and report activities and policy recommendations to the appropriate committees.

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Efrain Castellanos (WUCO), Chair
909-469-8254
ecastellanos@westernu.edu

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Ruth Trachimowicz (ICO), Chair
312-949-7180
rtrachim@ico.edu

Clinic Directors/Administrators

Dr. Kimberly Lambreghts (UHCO), Chair
713-743-1975
Klambreghts@uh.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Srihari Narayanan (RSO), Co-Chair
210-283-6436
narayana@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Mark Rosenfield (SUNY), Co-Chair
212-938-4000 x5766
mrosenfield@sunyopt.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Dr. Melanie Crandall (NOVA), Co-Chair
954-612-4142
mcrandall@nova.edu

Dr. Vanessa McDonald (NOVA), Co-Chair
954-262-4224
oceaa@nova.edu

Development Directors

Ms. Peggy Striplin
205-934-9838
striplin@uab.edu

Educational Technology

Dr. James Kundart (PUCO), Chair
503-352-2759
kundart@pacificu.edu

Ethics Educators

Dr. Beth Tonkery (PCO), Chair
etonkery@salus.edu

Externship Directors

Dr. Etty Bitton (Montreal), Co-Chair
etty.bitton@umontreal.ca
514-777-3097

Dr. Maria Parisi (PCO), Co-Chair
mparisi@salus.edu
215-480-2561

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Michael H. Heiberger (SUNY), Chair
212-938-1317
heiberg@sunyopt.edu

Dr. Hector Santiago (IAUPR), Chair-Elect
hsantiago@inter.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Tracy Matchinski (ICO), Chair
312-505-7723
tmatchin@ico.edu

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Suzanne Wickum (UH), Chair
713-743-2005
swickum@uh.edu

Ophthalmic Optics Educators

Dr. Mark Street (PCO), Chair
mstreet@salus.edu

Public Health Educators

Dr. Robert Kleinstein (UABSO), Chair
205-934-6757
vista@uab.edu

Residency Educators

Dr. David S. Loshin (NOVA), Co-Chair
954-452-1412
loshin@nova.edu

Dr. Douglas Hoffman (NECO), Co-Chair
617-369-0196
hoffman@neco.edu

Vision Science Librarians

Dr. Donnajean Matthews (SCCO), Chair
714-449-7438
dmatthews@ketchum.edu