DRS

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUP CONTACTS

2015-2016

SIGs are a primary means to implement ASCO’s mission of “fulfilling the leadership role in the optometric education enterprise.” SIGs operate within ASCO and report activities and policy recommendations to the appropriate committees.

 

Binocular Vision and Perception Educators

Dr. Pia Hoenig (UCB), Chair-elect

mphoenig@berkeley.edu

 

Biomedical Science Educators

Dr. Ruth Trachimowicz (ICO), Chair

rtrachim@ico.edu

Clinical Directors/Administrators

Dr. Kim Lambreghts (UHCO), Chair

klambreghts@central.uh.edu

Clinical Optometric Methods & Procedures Instructors

Dr. Srihari Narayanan (RSO), Chair

narayana@uiwtx.edu
Dr. Kaila Osmotherly (AZCOPT), Chair-elect

kosmot@midwestern.edu

Continuing Education Directors

Dr. Vanessa McDonald (NOVA), Co-Chair

vm49@nova.edu

 

Development Directors

Dr. Peggy Striplin (UAB), Chair

pstriplin@icare.opt.uab.edu

 

Educational Technology

Dr. Dean Swick (SCO), Chair

dean.swick@sco.edu

 

Ethics Educators

Dr. Beth Tonkery (PCO), Chair

etonkery@salus.edu

Dr. Paula McDowell (MCO), Chair-elect

PaulaMcDowell@ferris.edu

 

Externship Directors

Dr. Etty Bitton (Montreal),  Chair

Dr. Maria Parisi (PCO), Chair-elect

 

International Optometric Educators

Dr. Hector Santiago (IAUPR), Chair

hsantiago@opto.inter.edu

Low Vision Educators

Dr. Tracy Matchinski (ICO), Chair

TMatchin@ico.edu

 

Neuro-rehab Educators

Dr. Suzanne Wickum (UHCO), Chair

swickum@central.uh.edu

Dr. Jamie Brady (MCO), Chairbradyj@ferris.edu 

Public Health Educators

Dr. Robert Kleinstein (UABSO), Chair

vista@uab.edu

 

Residency Educators

Dr. David S. Loshin (NOVA), Co-Chair

loshin@nova.edu

Dr. Douglas Hoffman (NECO), Co-Chair

hoffman@neco.edu

 

Vision Science Librarians

Ms. Nancy Henderson (PUCO), Co-Chair

hendersn@pacificu.edu